Debre Hail Kidus Raguel Church was established on April 2010 under the Washington DC and Its Surroundings Archdiocese of the Ethiopian Orthodox Tewahedo Church (EOTC). It obeys, adheres to and follows the administrative structure of the Ethiopian Orthodox Tewahedo Church – The Mother Church - in Ethiopia, as defined in the Canon Law (Fiteh Mensesawi) and Kale Awadi. The Church recognizes and accepts the spiritual leadership of the Holy Synod based in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

The highest governing body of the Church is the Holy Synod, which is the assembly of Archbishops and bishops who are members of one body in the holy apostolic church chaired by His Holiness the Patriarch. The authority of the Holy Synod extends to the entire Ethiopian Orthodox Tewahedo Churches inside and outside Ethiopia. The church abides by the regular notices of spiritual and secular legislative guidelines of the EOTC Holy Synod.

The Ethiopian Orthodox Tewahedo Church is one of the ancient apostolic churches established in the first Christian era. According to Eusebius’s HISTORY OF THE CHURCH, Ethiopian Eunuch /acts, 8:26-40/, was the first apostle of the country. Starting from that time, Ethiopians accepted Christianity and the structural church was established in the 4th c. The E.O.T.C accepts only the first three Ecumenical Councils: Nicene325 AD, Ephesus 431AD and Constantinople 381 AD as legitimate and canonical.





4AM – 11AM

Divine Liturgy and Sermon


12PM – 2PM

Sunday School Program

Monday - Saturday

7AM - 10AM

Morning Prayer


6PM – 8PM

Evening Prayer and Sermon